Cedars Trio Wins National Awards

A trio of Cedars reporters recently earned first place for in-depth reporting in the Society for Professional Journalists national writing contest for college students.

Holly McClellan, Zack Anderson and Mary Miller were recognized for their work as part of the annual Mark of Excellence Awards. SPJ will recognize first-place national winners at the Excellence in Journalism 2014 conference in Nashville, Tennessee, Sept. 4-6.

The winning entry in the small school division (fewer than 10,000 students) was for a package of stories in the spring of 2013 about Cedarville University finances. McClellan is a 2013 Cedarville graduate. Anderson and Miller are 2014 graduates.

The entry had previously won first place in one of 12 regional competitions, qualifying it for the national competition. Cedars also had an entry in the national competition in general news reporting. Cedars was a finalist in four other categories in the regional competition.

National Mark of Excellence Award winners are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience. The judges were directed to choose only those entries which they felt were outstanding work worthy of a national honor. If the judges determined that none of the entries rose to the level of excellence, no award was given.

Cedars has also been honored this year as the top non-daily student newspaper in the state by the Ohio Newspaper Association and as runner-up among small schools in the national College Media Association Apple Awards.

No Replies to "Cedars Trio Wins National Awards"